Instituto: Reflections from choreographer Nicholas Villeneuve

Having switched roles for a brief time to embody the shoes as choreographer is turning out to be an even greater pleasure than I expected.  Day Two and one whole section of the work has been completed. However, I’ve yet to find a title….it’s just “Nicholas’s Dance”!

The dancers have brought themselves to the studio wholeheartedly, full of energy, and have been extremely helpful. Not knowing if I was going to be able to use everyone, I have come to the conclusion that each person should be showcased in this work. Having just recently been a Company member and performed in December at the New York season at The Joyce Theater,  it was a concern that it would be hard not only for me to assume the position as leader, but also to have my colleagues see me as that person. Not one eye has flinched and not one vibe is different. It’s a work day as usual in Studio 10. The only difference is, it’s not my body being hammered to the ground, it’s my mind.

The artists consistently assimilate the new and foreign material being thrown at them and offer solutions to quickly solve seemingly insolvable issues, proving to me that we have a fabulous Company with even greater potential that I would never have been able to see had I never been given this chance to sit at the helm. I anticipate that the process will continue to flow as I am extremely inspired and motivated.

Wednesday approaches and I am joyful.  It is not only a pleasure to see my work on such professionals but the supporting artistic team in studio with me namely Michelle Manzanales and Linda Kent prove invaluable.

FORWARD we go. Bring it on!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

