Company Dancer Christian Elán Ortiz: How I Spent My Summer Vacation

This past summer was truly one I will never forget. After a wonderful first season with Ballet Hispanico, my body and mind were ready for some rest and relaxation. Early in the summer I traveled to Honolulu, Hawaii to visit my family, and the beauty of the island was breathtaking.  I felt fortunate to experience the pristine beaches, majestic mountains, and lush forests of Oahu.  Of course, sharing it with my loved ones was all the better.

After two weeks in paradise I returned home to New York City feeling reinvigorated (and tan)! Summer in the city is a wonderful time, and I enjoyed various concerts and artistic events.  I saw DJ Kingdom at Rockaway Beach, attended several outdoor dance performances, and waited in line 5 hours to see the stunning Alexander McQueen: Savage Beauty exhibit at the Met. What is also great about summer in the city is the myriad of dance classes offered, and I took ballet class with several wonderful teachers.  In the end, I was ready and eager to begin my second season with BH!

-Christian Elán Ortiz

Christian rocking the paddleboard in Hawaii this summer!

Leave a Reply

